Bering United Methodist Church

The United Methodist Connectional System

Outline of United Methodist Polity

The United Methodist Church is governed by the General Conference. The General Conference is made up of Delegates from each Methodist church. Half of the Delegates are clergy (ordained Methodist ministers) and half are laity (“regular” church members). The General Conference convenes every four years—or quadrennium—to vote on official United Methodist positions and policies. (think U.S. Congress).

The duty of day-to-day governance is given to the Council of Bishops. (Think U.S. Executive Branch) Rulings on application of church law are made by the Judicial Council. (Think U.S. Supreme Court)

The General Conference is divided into localized Annual Conferences which are led by Bishops. (Bering is in the Texas Annual Conference)

Annual Conferences are divided into Districts

Comments are closed.

Come and Visit!

Celebrating 167 years of serving, sharing, and caring!

(713) 526-1017 phone | (713) 520-6866 fax

1440 Harold Street
Houston, Texas 77006

Get Directions